Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7   Go Down

Author Topic: GIRDING MY LOINS  (Read 28569 times)

bk

• Administrator
  • What is it, fish?
GIRDING MY LOINS
« on: February 09, 2004, 12:02:43 AM »

Well, you've read the notes (which were LONG), you've girded your loins and therefore there is nothing left to be done except post until the cows come home.  To it, I say.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2004, 12:03:36 AM by bk »

Jed

Re:GIRDING MY LOINS
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2004, 12:13:51 AM »

Oh my, what a wonderfully difficult topic o' the day.  I'll have to do myself some pondering and answer later in the day.

Should have plenty of pondering time today, as I'm subbing for a teacher who has a student teacher at the moment, so I'm just there for legal purposes, while the student teacher will run the classes.  Easiest day's wages I'm likely to ever see.
I sat beside the class clown... and I studied him

Tomovoz

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2004, 12:15:50 AM »

The quartet version of "Johanna" in Act 2 of "Sweeney Todd" is my favourite Sondheim work. I do love so much of his work - "Not A Day Goes By" and "Finishing The Hat" are so beautiful.  I still smile after countless listenings to "I Never Do Anything Twice". I also love "Barcelona".  Must also give mentions to "You Must Meet My Wife" and the wonderful "Weekend In The Country: and "Every Day A little Death". I could list so many more - even "A House For Mama".
"I'm sixty-three and I guess that puts me with the geriatrics, but if there were fifteen months in every year, I'd only be forty-three".
James Thurber 1957

Tomovoz

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2004, 12:17:25 AM »

"Gird". Australia's national anthem has the line "girt by sea". It always seems to be an ugly phrase to me.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2004, 09:36:27 PM by Tomovoz »